Felix (Possibly the Midwestern Worm Snake)

This is the story of Felix. I was playing  tennis in central Mexico when suddenly a snake fell out of a tree lining the court. I picked it up with my racquet and kept it as a pet for a couple of hours. He was small, harmless, and cat-like, so I named him Felix. I’m not completely sure of the species, but I suspect it’s a worm snake (Carphophis Amoenus helenae) and it had no business up in that tree.

What puzzles me is :

1. What is a midwestern worm snake doing in central Mexico.

2. Since when can a worm snake (who usually burrows and eats eathrworms) so easily climb a tree and navigate branches and twigs).

3. The belly of a worm snake is not mottled.

Rest assured there are plenty of earthworms for the worm snake to enjoy, and the soil is soft enough for the snake to burrow. But I’m not convinced that it is a worm snake.

Leave a comment